That little dough boy knows what he’s doing!

17 Sep

As promised from last week, I made a dessert for my small group this Wednesday. I went back and forth about what to make, but decided to go with a recipe from pillsbury.com: Ooey-Gooey Turtle Bars. It was a good choice. 🙂 I almost decided against it, only because I’d never made the recipe before. So I thought maybe I should wait until I’d tested it before I took it to a house full of hungry people. But….I decided to throw caution to the wind and just try it out. Here’s the link to the full recipe if you’re interested. http://www.pillsbury.com/recipes/ooey-gooey-turtle-bars/7fdfd624-ea2b-469d-ada4-91de004b81fc/

This recipe is pretty easy, but you need to plan in advance because it needs to cool several hours before being cut into squares. All of the gooey chocolate chips and caramel sauce need a little time to firm up. It’s well worth the wait. 🙂

You start with a roll of sugar cookie dough and press it into the bottom of a pan.

Then sprinkle on chocolate chips and pecan pieces. Try not to eat too many of either as they pass from your hand into the pan. But of course, what’ s a few chocolate chips out of the entire recipe? Not much. Trust me. It’ll turn out fine.

Next you need to heat some butter, brown sugar, caramel ice cream topping, and graham cracker crumbs until the mixture starts to boil.

Once it boils, pour it into the pan. Then sprinkle on the rest of the chocolate chips and pecan pieces. (I devised a plan to be very scientific about this: If you ate a few chocolate chips last time you sprinkled, eat a few pecans this time. That way, the ratio is still all balanced out and what not. This tip is free of charge just for being a loyal reader.)

Looks so pretty! The recipe says to bake it for 25-32 minutes. Based on how mine turned out, I would suggest baking it close to the whole time, probably not less than 30 minutes.

And voila! The crust has turned into a beautiful dark brown, and the pecans are toasted. YUM. Unfortunately, it must cool for several  hours before you cut into it. But once it’s cooled down, I think you’ll really enjoy these turtle bars. They are very rich, so you might want to cut them into fairly small pieces. Enjoy!

Next to come: I have no idea. Any thoughts? I’m considering a poundcake, or possibly a home made red velvet. Or anything else that comes to mind within the next week. 🙂

Random Thought of the Day: I can’t believe I’ve been teaching over a month now! This weekend I’ll be getting Progress Reports ready so that I can send them home on Monday. I can’t believe it’s time for Progress Reports so soon!

2 Responses to “That little dough boy knows what he’s doing!”

  1. icingonyourcake September 18, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    I guess I better add some more items to the grocery list this mornning. Those look delish!

  2. Jessica Llanes September 18, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    YUM!!!! This is going on my growing-faster-than-I-can-keep-up-with-it bake list!

Leave a Reply

