Happy Birthday to Me. And Her. :)

2 Sep

This week I have good news and bad news. The good news is that my family came to town this past weekend. My twin sister and I had a birthday, so they all came to celebrate. Quite naturally, I made a cake for my sister. I figured it was the only reasonable thing to do in such a situation. 🙂

The bad news is that something is wrong with my camera. It won’t turn on, so I thought at first it was just dead. But the batteries won’t charge either.

😦 One day it worked, and the next it didn’t. I’d already taken pictures of the cake, but I hadn’t gotten around to uploading them yet. So I unfortunately don’t have many pictures from my latest cake endeavor. I do have just one “in progress” shot and one “final product” picture that I took with my cellphone. If I’d known that the camera was going to give up on me I would have taken more with my cellphone. I’ll have to keep that in mind next week while I’m baking. Here is the story minus the beautiful pictures to document it all. Maybe one day soon I’ll be able to figure out the camera and share them with you…

The cake flavors were her choice: white cake, cookies and cream filling, and swiss meringue buttercream icing. Very good flavor combination. The swiss meringue buttercream is an off white color, and I knew that I would have to add something pink on the cake. My sister LOVES pink. I decided that since she’s a girly girl, a pink flower would be just the thing. I rolled out some pink gumpaste and used a heart shaped cookie cutter to cut out what would be the petals. After letting the petals dry for a little while in a “flower former”, I arranged them in a flower shape in an egg carton to let them dry.

Fast forward through baking the cake, making the filling, and mixing the icing. I *carefully* placed the pink flower on top of the cake, trying to make sure that it didn’t fall off the edge. I added a yellow circle for a center and some green scrolly-thingys to be the flower stem. The last step was to add a pink border to the bottom, and stand back to admire. 🙂

So that was her birthday cake! Sorry there aren’t any more pictures…..but she really liked it, so that’s what matters. 

Next to come: practice tier for a wedding cake that I’ll be making in October.

Random Thought of the Day: College football starts tonight!!!!! Ok, I’m going to be completely honest here. I’m not nearly excited about this as my husband is. He’s going bananas. But I am a little excited. 🙂 I don’t really care anything about the games that will be on tonight, but I am ready to see the Florida State game on Saturday. 🙂

One Response to “Happy Birthday to Me. And Her. :)”

  1. Jessica Llanes September 3, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    Just because I love how enthusiastic BIL is, I MIGHT watch a FSU game this year…..after the World Series is over-a girl’s gotta keep her priorities straight.

Leave a Reply

