The Dog Days of Summer…

27 Aug

Boy, is it hot outside. The other day I heard the weatherman on the radio say that it is starting to cool off and we would feel a difference by the end of the week. He lied. There’s no other possible explanation. As I stand outside each afternoon in the 2:00 sun waiting on the buses to come  pick up my precious first graders, I do not feel a drop in temperature. Hopefully I will soon, though. 🙂
Until then, I would like to celebrate one of the expressions that I don’t even remotely understand: the dog days of summer. How did this expression come about? Anyone know? I don’t, but I’m a dog lover so I’ll just go with it. I wish I could say that I came up with this cake design all by myself, but that would be a big fat lie. And since the weatherman already told one of those, I’ll tell the truth. I was inspired by a cakecentral.com member who goes by the username of bocaditospr. When I saw the picture of bocaditospr’s cake, I knew I would have to try something like it. So here’s my little tribute to the special 4 legged friends in my life. 🙂

I started with an 8″ round chocolate cake.

Then I carved just a little off of the top to give it an angle.

Gave it a crumb coat of buttercream…

…and then wrapped some red fondant around it. I didn’t bother covering the top, because it wouldn’t show in the end product anyways.

I needed a silver border for the top and bottom, so I made a couple from fondant and painted them with luster dust. Can you guess what it will be yet? Or did you already scroll down to the bottom to see? 🙂

Ok…..how many of you had not scrolled down to the bottom before you read that last sentence…..but couldn’t stand it after you got the idea? Just checking. 🙂 Next I rolled out some gumpaste and cut out pawprints. I only cut out three pawprints, and it will still a little tedious. Good thing I didn’t need any more than that.

Then I made a couple of dog tags so that it could be personalized. Too bad my dogs can’t read, I think they really would have appreciated that. 🙂

This dog food looks just about good enough to eat!

Of course, there is an added bonus because you only need a small amount of cocoa puffs to add on top as the “dog food.” You can eat the rest for breakfast. 🙂

Random Thought of the Day: Lost, Season 6 came out this week. It’s the only season Eric and I haven’t watched yet. Honestly, I thought Season 5 got a little too crazy… but now I’ve watched so much that I just have to know how it ends. Anyone else find this show slightly addicting?

3 Responses to “The Dog Days of Summer…”

  1. Laura August 27, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    So cute, as always! I wonder where that saying came from as well… hmmm? And my roommate and I started watching Lost about a month or two ago. We are on Season 3 but can’t stop watching, no matter how ridiculous it gets! It’s unbelievably addicting 😛

  2. Jessica Llanes August 31, 2010 at 12:41 am #

    I’ve never watched lost, but I love the cake! I’ve decided that if Scarface had a human voice, it would sound just like Steve Urkel ; )

  3. Mom September 2, 2010 at 1:40 am #

    Ok, I know I’ve said it before, but I really mean it – That is the cutest cake I have ever seen! You make awesome looking cakes and the ones I’ve ate taste delicious! Love Ya!

Leave a Reply

