Taking the Easy Way Out…

13 Aug

With school starting this week, I knew that I needed to pick a dessert to blog about that would be very easy to prepare. But…I didn’t want to have to compromise flavor for convenience. I thought Monkey Bread would be the perfect solution. 🙂 Easy to make, but full of delicious cinnamon gooeyness. I found a recipe on allrecipes.com: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Monkey-Bread-III/Detail.aspx

If I make this recipe again, I’ll make just a few changes. I’d only use 1 cup of white sugar and 2 tablespoons of cinnamon because I found that I had way too much cinnamon sugar for the amount of biscuits. Also, I’d only bake for 30 minutes instead of 35, because mine was a little overdone and dry. 😦

I figured….if I’m going with an easy recipe anyways, I’m going to really take all the shortcuts. The recipe said to roll each biscuit piece in cinnamon sugar. I thought even this was too much work, so I decided to put the cinnamon sugar in a big ziploc bag instead, and toss the biscuit pieces in it (I learned this intense cooking method from Shake ‘n Bake, of course).

I opened all of the cans of biscuits and put them on a cutting board, so that I could cut them into fourths. Having recently watched a re-run of Chopped, I found myself pondering, “How quickly could a professional chef chop this entire mound of biscuits?” Then I wondered, “Is that a ridiculous question? Would a *professional chef* ever be bothered with chopping canned biscuits? But really…..how quickly could it be done?”

I didn’t time myself to see how long it took me to chop them all, but I decided that a professional chef could have done it in 1/5 of the time. Not sure why 1/5, it just sounded good to me. 🙂 Then I started thinking…..once the biscuits are cut up into these pieces, it kind of reminds me of the chunks of apples that my sister uses in apple pies. Of course, I wanted to call her up and ask her to make me one, except that she lives several hundred miles away.

After I shook the pieces in the cinnamon sugar, they didn’t look like apples anymore. But they kind of looked like chicken nuggets.

Eric passed by and saw me shaking these pieces in the sugar mixture, but didn’t really see what it was I was making. He asked if I was making Chex Muddy Buddies, because I made that a couple of months ago and he remembered that I shook around the cereal in a ziploc bag. Of course, when he asked that I wanted some Muddy Buddies right away. Now I had cravings for monkey bread, an apple pie from my sister, chicken nuggets, and chex mix. Then I realized……it was after dinnertime and I hadn’t had anything to eat yet. Maybe that could explain how pieces of canned biscuits looked like chicken to me? I decided I needed to eat something….fast. 🙂

Once all of the biscuit pieces have been tossed in the sugar mixture and arranged in a bundt pan, just pour over the melted butter and bake! Super easy.

This recipe really did have a good flavor to it; it was just too well done. I was tempted to try a second batch just to see how much better it tasted, but I never found the time. If any of you try it, let me know how long you bake it. 🙂

Random Thought of the Day: Some people have really weird names. After looking through all of the registration paperwork for my new students this week, I saw that one of my student’s legal middle name is “Dragonfly.” Well, technically it’s her third name, but she has four. So I guess it’s her second middle name? I don’t really understand that whole process. I thought there was a 3 name limit per kid, or something? 🙂

The End.

6 Responses to “Taking the Easy Way Out…”

  1. startingoveringermany August 13, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    Your blog made me laugh, your like me…sometime trying to find the short cut of doing things:) I have question…What did you place on top of the bread when you where done? It look like some extra things were added.

    • icingonyourcake August 14, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

      The top of the bread has chopped pecans. They were actually added to the bottom of the pan before the biscuits were added. Then once the bread was flipped out of the pan, the pecans end up on top. I skipped that step when I was typing, but it is in the original recipe. I was in a hurry when I wrote the blog yesterday, so it slipped my mind to include that information. 🙂 I think the pecans go very well with the cinnamon flavor in the monkey bread. 🙂

  2. Jessica Llanes August 14, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    I don’t remember putting pecans in monkey bread before, but it looks good!

  3. startingoveringermany August 14, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    I agree with Jessica that it does look good!

  4. Eric August 14, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

    I can tell you first hand that everything she bakes is always as delicious as it looks, it not more so 🙂

  5. Kasi August 20, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    As an addicted chopped fan I find myself thinking those same kind of questions but then like you I think duh a real chef is totally not cooking the same things I am lol….adding to my order as well I want monkey bread without pecans to go with my standing order, which I’m waiting on FYI! 🙂

Leave a Reply

