The REAL fun size :)

6 Aug

As I was trying to think of a name for today’s post, I thought of something that my sister, Jessica, always says.  She says that she doesn’t understand why “fun sized” candy bars are called fun size. She says it doesn’t make sense, because a tiny little candy bar always makes  you want more. She says that it would be more fun to eat the regular sized chocolate bars, not the small ones. So it would really make more sense to call a larger candy bar a “fun sized” bar. Well Jessica…this week I made a *fun* sized cupcake. 🙂 A couple of weeks ago my mother in law gave me one of those cake pans that makes a giant sized cupcake (Thanks again!). So I tried it out yesterday, and decided to try to make some sugar flowers to go on it. 🙂 I’m honestly not a huge fan of carnations, but I found a set of instructions to make them out of gumpaste and it seemed fairly easy. It took quite a while from start to finish, because I had to let each layer of petals dry before adding the next layer. But I was pretty excited with the final product. 🙂

Not bad for my first try….let’s hope it’s not just beginner’s luck. 🙂  Now onto the cake! It bakes in two pieces, the top half of the cupcake and the bottom half. I loved how easy these pans were to use, and since they were silicone it was really easy to turn the cake out of the pan without it sticking or tearing. Here’s how it looks before stacked.

I decided to ice the bottom part of the cake white, to be the “cupcake wrapper,” and then I stacked on the top layer.

I decided the top should be iced in a light pink color, to go with the carnations. 🙂

Last step: place the gumpaste carnations on the cupcake…..and it’s all done! I had a lot of fun with this, and now I’m trying to decide which flower to try next. 🙂

Random Thought for the Day: Making these flowers made me think a quote from one of my favorite movies. Who can name the movie without looking it up? “Pierre, I love you, but if you use another carnation in my bouquet, I will deport you.”

Leave a comment if you know the movie. Or if you want to tell me what your favorite movie is. Or if you want to tell me what movie you want to watch this weekend. Or if you just feel like leaving a comment. 🙂

Have a great weekend everyone.

The End. 😀

2 Responses to “The REAL fun size :)”

  1. Laura August 6, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    The giant cupcake turned out super cute!! I always wondered if those actually worked lol. I knew I’d heard the quote, but couldn’t think of the movie, so I cheated and looked it up because it was bothering me! But I won’t spoil it 😛 Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. Jessica Llanes August 6, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    The wedding planner!!! I thought of that movie before you even asked, as soon as I see a carnation I always think of that scene! And, now since it’s on my mind, I want to watch that movie this weekend! My other favorite quote from the wedding planner “I only eat the brown ones….I figure they have less artificial coloring, because chocolate’s already brown” GREAT movie!
    And the huge cupcake is pretty awesome too = )

Leave a Reply

