I’m here! :)

9 Jul

Today I am being productive. I am trying out a cheesecake recipe for the first time, and I’m also finally getting around to creating this blog. Now, when I say trying cheesecake for the first time, I mean the first time ever making a *real* cheesecake. Not the no-bake, stir-and-stick-it-in-the-fridge type deal. I bought a springform pan quite some time ago, but never got around to trying the real deal. Actually, I was a little nervous. I’ve heard cheesecakes are very delicate, and crack very easily. Also, I’ve heard that they don’t look quite done when you take them out of the oven, but that’s ok because they keep cooking as they cool. So how am I supposed to know when it’s ready to be taken out of the oven? How do I know when it’s done if it doesn’t look like it is? For a little while, these concerns stopped me from trying to conquer the delicious cheesecake.  But my friends, today is the day. 🙂

I found a recipe on one of my favorite baking websites (www.bakerella.com), bought all of the ingredients, and here is what happened…..

I started by making the graham cracker crust. It smelled good in the kitchen from the very beginning, with the melted butter being stirred into graham cracker crumbs. Yum.

Then I mixed together the filling. This recipe calls for 4 packs of cream cheese. That’s a lot! I guess that’s why it’s called CHEESEcake though, right? 🙂 After adding all of the ingredients, my mixing bowl was quite full. If you ever try this recipe, I’d suggest using the largest mixing bowl you own.

I would like to take a moment to point out my stylish measuring cups. 🙂 They were a wedding present from my Aunt Derinda. They are not only my favorite color, but also Paula Deen brand. I really like them. So thanks again, Aunt Derinda. 😀

Ok, enough of that. 🙂 When I poured the filling into the pan, I was worried it wouldn’t hold it all! It did, but just barely. I hope cheesecakes don’t rise much when they are baking, like regular cakes do. I don’t want to have a mess in my oven! But like I said, this is my first cheesecake, and there’s only one way to find out.

Into the oven it goes! After baking and cooling it had to chill in the refrigerator overnight. Bummer! I was ready to try it right away. It was only noon when it came out of the oven, so letting it cool overnight seemed like an eternity!

P.S. It did have a crack in it, but I had a feeling it wasn’t going to make a difference in the taste, so that’s ok.

The next morning, I couldn’t stand it any longer. I’d already waited 72.000 seconds! What torture! So….I did the only thing I knew to do when a cheesecake was sitting in the fridge…..I ate a slice for breakfast. 🙂 I’m guessing it doesn’t count as a balanced breakfast, but it was too tempting. And wow, was it yummy! I can’t believe I took so long so try a cheesecake. I know I’ll be making this many, many times in the future. To make it look even prettier, I drizzled a little chocolate ganache on the top (I just happened to have some leftover from a cake I made). Once the cheesecake is sliced, there isn’t any evidence whatsoever of a crack in the middle. 🙂 Or, even if you’d like to keep the entire cheesecake intact to serve it at a party or something, you could just cover up the crack with a nice strawberry filling. No one ever has to know. 😉

Tah dah! I made cheesecake. And you should too. 🙂

Here’s the recipe, in case any of you are interested. Also,I’ve heard that it’s a good idea to bake cheesecakes in a waterbath, to prevent cracking and promote even baking. But…..I don’t own a roasting pan, so I didn’t  have anything large enough to hold the springform pan my cheesecake was in. If I did though, I would try it. What could it hurt?

Cheesecake

2.5 cups graham cracker crumbs
2 Tbsp sugar
1/2 cup butter, melted

4 (8oz.) packages cream cheese
1.5 cups sugar
3 Tbsp flour
5 eggs
1 cup sour cream
1 Tbsp vanilla
1 Tbsp lemon juice

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees
  • Combine graham cracker crumbs and sugar.
  • Stir in melted butter until moistened.
  • Pour the mixture into a 9-inch springform pan (3 inches tall). Press the crumbs into the bottom and 1 inch up the sides of the pan.
  • Bake for about 10 minutes. Remove and cool to room temperature.
  • To make the cheesecake filling, cream the sugar, cream cheese and flour with an electric mixer on medium until light and fluffy.
  • On medium low, add eggs one at a time, mixing well with each addition.
  • On low, add sour cream, lemon juice and vanilla just until combined.
  • Bake for about 1 hour and 15 minutes at 325.
  • Remove from the oven and let cool completely to room temperature.
  • Chill in the refrigerator overnight.

Last but not least, I would like to leave you with a random thought for today. Friday Night Lights is a great show. One of my favorites. And it comes on tonight 🙂 I’m so excited. If you haven’t checked it out, I would highly suggest it. 🙂 Anyone else a fan? If so, who is your favorite character?

The End.

6 Responses to “I’m here! :)”

  1. Eric July 9, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    Yay a new blog:) You are so talented babe and your cakes are always delicious. I’m so proud of you!

    Oh and Tim Riggins of course 🙂

  2. Aunt Derinda July 9, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    The only and I say it again was that I didn’t get a piece and I love love love did I say love CHEESECAKE. I am so glad you are enjoying the measuring cups and I know they are getting used. LOL The cheesecake looks great but I am scared to make one. But maybe I need to take after one of my favorite nieces and just DO IT.

    Keep up the blog love reading it.

    Love ya alot

    Aunt Derinda

  3. Mom July 9, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

    Another baking success! We’ve got a baking diva in the family!
    Glad to see you’re expanding your dessert portfolio. We’ll have more great options when we all get together and you ask, ‘What do I need to bring?” You now know that’s a dangerous question as much as we all love desserts!
    Congrats on the cheesecake!

  4. Jessica July 9, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    Um, I don’t watch that show so my comment is-will you please make this next time I see you? Please and thank you! ; ) Can’t wait to read another post!

  5. Jessica Llanes July 9, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

    My only comment is, will you make that next time I see you? Please and thank you ; )
    Can’t wait to read the next post!

  6. Laura July 16, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    Hello! Just thought I’d let you know that I make banana-nut-yogurt muffins and freeze them for a month or two and they are still yummy! =)

Leave a Reply

